Ohio requires novice motorcycle riders to adhere to restrictions on their license depending on the type of motorcycle. These restrictions may be a restriction on engine size or carrying passengers. The law defines these limits often by engine size and the number of cylinders present in the motorcycle.
So, you must follow the Novice Motorcycle Rider Ohio Restrictions to ride on Ohio’s roads and highways as a motorcyclist. If you don’t follow these laws, you can face fines, have your license suspended or revoked, or even jail term. It’s crucial to understand how Ohio laws affect all bikers to ride legally and safely.
This article will discuss Ohio’s restrictions and motorcycle riding rules in detail. So, sit back by the window, take a tea, and read on.
Obtaining a License as a Novice Motorcycle Rider in Ohio
Legally operating a motorcycle in Ohio requires holding a driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement. The state issues a driver’s license based on age. You can get your first motorcycle license at 16 years old and ride with your parent’s permission until you are 18. At 18 years old, you will need to pass an Ohio motorcycle permit test (written) exam and driving test to obtain your motorcycle license.
Take a look at a glance: Cheat Sheet for the DMV motorcycle written test in Ohio.
Once you earn your Ohio motorcycle license, it’s valid for five years. You must carry your license on a motorcycle and show it to any law enforcement officer who asks to see it. The application process is available in detail in the state’s Traffic Laws Manual, which you can obtain from any driver licensing station in Ohio.
Restrictions For Motorcycle Riders Over 18 Years
If you are 18 years old or older, you can become a licensed motorcycle operator by taking the skills test and a road knowledge test. You must bring a valid state-issued ID card and proof of completing your MSF course in the exam.
The exam will occur at one of Ohio’s three designated testing locations. Dayton Motorcycle School in Dayton, Safety First Harley Davidson in Akron, and Total Rider Training in Marysville.
The knowledge test will test your knowledge of riding a motorcycle, including lane positioning, signaling and changing lanes, stopping at intersections and pedestrian crossings, visibility, sharing the road with other vehicles and bicyclists, general driving rules, etc.
An instructor and a road test examiner will test you on your motorcycle skills. You have to know how to steer, stop, and control your bike. Then. The administrator will examine how well you can ride your bike.
Riders Who Are Under 18
You have to complete a Motorcycle Ohio Basic Course before obtaining your motorcycle license If you are under 18. When you complete this course, you can get a temporary instruction permit identification card (TIPIC) from your local Ohio BMV. Then, you can ride without any hassle with this license. It will be valid for up to 12 months.
Unfortunately, the TIPIC license has some mentionable restrictions:
- Ohio allows TIPIC license holders to operate their motorcycle during daylight hours only.
- You can’t carry any passengers unless you get the standard license.
- You have to abide by the motorcycle helmet law in Ohio mandatorily.
- Riding on congested roads and highways are abandoned with TIPIC.
If you have held a motorcycle permit for six months, you may take the road test and apply for your license or endorsement. There are some mandatory steps to take before completing the exam and obtaining your permit, including:
- All riders must complete an approved Motorcycle Ohio Course. In addition to instructions, students will spend time riding motorcycles under the supervision of an experienced instructor. Upon completion, students have to test their knowledge and skills. You can complete the course online and on-site in many locations throughout the state.
- The driver education course usually includes 24-30 hours of live classes and eight hours of free practice permit tests for motorcycles in Ohio.
- Drive for at least 50 hours before the test. Professional passed examiners recommend this method.
After completing the Motorcycle Ohio Course, you will take the final step in Ohio’s process to get your motorcycle license. Then, when you complete the course finally, you will receive a certificate of completion. In this case, you may have up to 60 days to go to a deputy registrar agency to purchase your license or endorsement.
BTW, you can take a free motorcycle practice test here.
Insurance Requirements For Novice Motorcycle Riders in Ohio
In Ohio, operating a motorcycle or planning to do so requires you to have insurance. The type of insurance you need is dependent on your age, driving record, and where you live. Minimum liability coverage for motorcycles is the same as it is for other passenger vehicles:
- $20,000 personal injury protection (PIP) for one person
- $40,000 PIP for two people; $15,000 property damage liability per accident
- And $3,500 medical payments coverage per other person injured in an accident.
Even if you have the average amount of insurance required in Ohio, you should consider buying more coverage to protect yourself. If you cause an accident, it is unlikely that the minimum will cover all medical expenses and wage garnishments. Ensure your insurance covers your medical expenses and any lost wages you might have incurred during time off from work.
Typically, insuring popular motorcycles like Harley Davidson or even getting a license for Harley Davidson is comparatively easy. So, make sure your bike is not unfamiliar or contains faulty parts. The insurance agent will check your bike well before you get insured or seek insurance.
Motorcycle riders should carry at least $20,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person and $40,000 in liability coverage per accident. Suppose you got involved in an accident and are injured or caused injury to another person. In that case, your insurance can help pay for damages such as medical expenses and lost wages due to injuries suffered during the incident. When you complete an Ohio motorcycle permit practice test and show it to the insurance carrier, you can achieve more compensation as a novice rider.
Ohio’s motorcycle insurance laws are fundamental for protecting you and your bike. Your motorcycle needs liability coverage, medical payments coverage, and uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. You should also know what exemptions apply to you, your bike, and motorcycle equipment concerning registration fees, taxes, and titling.
Novice Motorcycle Rider Restrictions in Ohio (Operating Laws)
If you are new to riding motorcycles in Ohio, you must understand the state’s motorcycle laws. Most of these laws will seem relatively straightforward and make sense. The main thing to remember is that helmets are mandatory. If you became involved in a crash and were not wearing a helmet, there may be a chance you can still file a personal injury claim against the at-fault party depending on how your case is.
Bonus: Novice motorcycle riders can now learn to ride or be motorcycle technicians online!
The motorcycle-riding laws in Ohio make the roads safer for everyone, including other vehicles. Ensure you know the rules and regulations of riding a motorcycle before hitting the road. You’ll need to follow the same laws for automobile drivers. Let’s check some of those in detail:
The law does not require everyone on a motorcycle to wear a helmet. Motorcycles got grouped with bicycles and snowmobiles, and the helmet law is included in the Ohio Revised code § 4511.53 “Operation of bicycles, motorcycles, and snowmobiles,” which states:
Anyone under 18 years of age must operate or ride as a passenger on a motorcycle unless they wear head protection that meets federal standards (FMVSS 218) and is approved by the US Department of Transportation.
Ensure to meet all the helmet requirements in Ohio to avoid any penalties. Also, in an accident, your helmet will significantly reduce the risk of severe head and face injuries.
Can You File a Claim If You Were Not Wearing A Helmet During a Crash?
Those who have obtained a novice motorcycle license are subject to additional restrictions and must carry an orange safety vest while riding. These individuals may not perform some of the more advanced maneuvers, such as lane splitting or lane sharing. The Ohio Department of Public Safety can provide details on these additional restrictions and requirements.
The term “novice motorcyclist” refers to a person operating a motorcycle who is not licensed to operate a bike in any state for at least two years. Therefore, The State of Ohio has additional restrictions for novice riders. These restrictions provide maximum safety during your first year of motorcycle operation.
The provided exemption applies to Novice Motorcycle Riders with an O.H. motorcycle license under 21 years at issuance.
The above text is from the Ohio revised code. It means Ohio law allows all motorcycle riders to file a personal injury claim if they’re injured in a crash, regardless of wearing a helmet at the time of the accident. In other words, even if you were not wearing a helmet when involved in a crash, you can still pursue a claim for losses such as medical expenses and pain/suffering, unlike in some other states.
Handlebars and Seating
A motorcycle must have a permanent/regular seat attached to the bike. Any passengers must also be seated in that seat. The handlebars should be in line with your shoulders to achieve good posture while riding. The handlebars must not rise higher than your shoulders when sitting on the motorcycle.
Make sure to obey this rule and don’t highly modify your seats, so it breaks the laws. It is one of the novice motorcycle rider Ohio restrictions that you should follow.
Ohio law does not explicitly allow for lane splitting. While it is not expressly illegal, it is not explicitly legal either. You could be cited for failing to operate within a marked lane or failure to exercise care when passing other vehicles while riding a motorcycle on U.S. roadways. It’s important to note that motorcycles may have to follow all traffic laws in your state, and so might still be required by quota to ride in lanes with at least one automobile.”
Most law enforcement officers will be understanding as long as you remain safe while splitting traffic lanes.
Motorcyclists often ride between lanes of cars in heavy traffic. The practice, known as “lane splitting,” allows bikers to save time and even reduce the risk of crashing by enabling them to move between vehicles rather than waiting in stop-and-go traffic.
However, lane splitting is not officially legal in most states. There are exceptions for particular situations like California and Ohio, where it is often safe to split lanes at speeds up to 45 miles per hour.
Riding Motorcycles Side by Side
The law states that it is not legal to ride more than two motorcycles in a single lane. However, it is legal for one motorcycle to ride between cars in the same (or adjacent) lane. Moreover, you should carefully drive when you see something unfamiliar. Defensive driving for motorcycles can worsen things if you don’t know how to do it properly.
Be careful if you’re driving on major highways with high rates of speed. The highway patrol can ticket small groups riding together, especially if they appear unsafe or unpredictable, like those following another rider at fault. If you are with your family on a bike, traveling slowly in the same lane can help protect them from falling off the back of your bike.
Conclusion (Novice Motorcycle Rider Ohio Restrictions)
This article was to help you follow the Novice Motorcycle Rider Ohio Restrictions for getting your motorcycle license. As a novice motorcycle rider in Ohio, you must be very careful of the rules and guidelines. Remember that your motorcycle endorsement is only suitable for a year, so be sure to renew it before it expires. Avoid alcohol or drugs before riding, and always wear a helmet when on your bike.
Please comment below or contact us with the ‘contact us’ button at the top if you have any further queries.